Fun title ~

20160119_185454

A useful book, January 19, 2016

It was kind of a dark and (moist!) rainy day, and picture-taking flew out of my mind, so I was going to take one of the books massing on my office shelves, but as I was putting them away (in order to do that), I came across this book whose title makes me laugh. I’m not sure why … it just kind of sounds like a book you’d find in a library in a Harry Potter novel, which is wrong because Theon of Smyrna was a real person, a contemporary of Nicomachus of Gerasa (who lived in the 200s), through whom Pythagorean ideas were transmitted to the medieval west (in Latin translations by Boethius — Nicomachus wrote in Greek). Read more about Theon here … and read about some other arcane texts here!

One thought on “Fun title ~

  1. Pingback: Another fun find in a library book ~ – The Boomerang Blog

Leave a Reply

